Skip navigation

Blaine Cook

It’s been a busy week for web hooks, eh? Well, I figured I might as well share a quick note I received while writing the Amazon post. Blaine Cook, former architect of Twitter, sent me a message after finding a post in which I said he was the one preventing Twitter from providing web hooks. You see, I gave my first public talk on web hooks at an event called SuperHappyDevHouse in 2007. Afterward, Alex Payne came up to me and said, “This is great, I’d love to put this in Twitter.” But it never happened, and I was under the impression Blaine was the one that shot the idea down.

Anyway, he sent me a message saying that although he thinks it’s unfeasible for Twitter to provide web hooks at their scale, he’s all for them in principle. In fact, he says his next project will have web hooks from the start, which is exciting to hear.

But I’m still not convinced Twitter is completely unable to provide web hooks. The fact they let you get all notifications via SMS means they’re either making a web request or at the very least, sending an email. Why can’t they asynchronously queue up the outgoing HTTP requests for users that want web hooks?

Anyway, the Twitter argument is for another time. I look forward to seeing what Blaine is up to and how he’s using web hooks.

Leave a Reply

